Reflections on Thanksgiving

Standard

I’ve learned over and over again that training makes races less painful, and yet here I am, on the other side of another race that I ran without any preparation, with sore hips. As far as I know I didn’t do much worse this year than I have in the past, but I need to be running more. Every race is a chance to set a new PR. I stuck with my friend for most of it, but she legit trains, and runs all the time, so that didn’t last. She was also just having an awesome running day though, and I didn’t want to hold her back.

13,200 people, is a ton of people. And some of those people are bound to have gone to high school with you. Smile, say hi, then make an excuse and your escape. It doesn’t have to be awkward. It’s also good to have an arranged meeting spot with your group. The fact that I found anyone that I want to was remarkable, but good, since it allowed me to eventually get home. It also indicates a super-human finding ability on my part that I think I may have to devote to finding treasure and/or truffles. If only it worked on my house keys.

Naps are important. Waking up early, running a race that you haven’t trained for, and then eating a massive dinner at 4:00 when you haven’t napped isn’t advised. I did it, but a nap would have made things better.

When you find heels that are comfortable and cute you should glom onto them. Even if they’re your mom’s.

I don’t care how inauthentic it is, stuffing should be made with stale white bread, and cooked inside the turkey. No, it won’t kill you if you wash the inside of the turkey first and cook the stuffing outside first and then put it in while it’s still hot. Disagree? More delicious stuffing for me.

I used to think that people shouldn’t start listening to Christmas music until December, but I was wrong. Thanksgiving Day is an appropriate kick-off date. Especially when there’s Zooey Deschanel Christmas music to be listened to.

Leave a Reply

