Being ablest for a moment

Standard

I’m sorry, but I am feeling incredibly stupid right now, and “foolish” and “unwise” aren’t cutting it. My aunt likes to tease me by calling me “Full-Disclosure Caroline”, and it’s true- I share everything. In some ways it’s nice- people know what’s going on in my life, and so they have more background and can better understand why I do the things I do, and when you’re willing to share really personal stuff people are happy to listen, so you get to talk about yourself a lot, which can be very fun, but it has drawbacks, and I frequently wish I had been more discrete when things inevitable blow up in my face. For example, blogging about homework seems natural, just like blogging about your friends (as it turns out, even if you don’t use their name, they will find it, and it’s really hard to write something about them that they won’t dislike. Even nice things have backfired on me), but putting actual homework questions on your blog means that people in your class can Google them and your blog will turn up, sometimes as the third thing on the page, and that’s where things get sticky. Is it an honor code violation? I didn’t post an answer key, or anything like that, only one attempt at an answer that proved incorrect, but it makes me feel uneasy. It didn’t occur to me that it might be a bad idea though, because I don’t think. So now I’m going to have to start thinking. When I think about the blogs that I most enjoy reading it isn’t because the authors just blab their every inane thought onto the internet, because that isn’t actually interesting. It isn’t good writing to say everything you think. I want to be a little more vague, a little more mysterous. It won’t kill me to hold back a little, and it might actually prolong my life if I stop posting idiot things that will result someone choking me to death over what I’ve written. I can be circumspect. I will be. It’s going to be great.

Leave a Reply

