Say cheese

Standard

I look forward to Saturdays. It isn’t exactly unusual, but I really really do. And so I was kind of bummed about having to retake my 5-hour driving course this Saturday, because it would make me miss the market and eat up a big chunk of time. So…I put it off. I’ll take it soon, but I didn’t take it today. Instead, I woke up early, and made more turnovers. I prepped them last night by cooking the bacon and defrosting the pastry, so it was a quick process, instead of taking forever like it did last time. I also made them smaller, because while the first batch was delicious, they were too big for a single serving. They were at least two, and sometimes even three servings in fact, and that’s impractical, so I made these half as big. I think they’re probably best as appetizers though, and so next time they’ll be even smaller. While the second batch was baking, I dealt with the transportation issue (because I clearly made them with someone in mind). Last time I wrapped them in parchment paper, but I knew I could do better than that, and so I made a tupperware box out of a gallon jug ( I got the idea from a website, but it’s a ninja craft site, so I can’t find it again). Sounds crazy, right? Well, depending on why you think it sounds crazy, it might not be! The box-out-of-the-jug part is actually super awesome. It may revolutionize the way we send people home with leftovers. I have tupperware issues. When I was at school I had I think five sandwich sized tupperwares, and one giant one, and they all had lids, and were kept together, and it was great. Then I came home though, and my system descended into madness. There’s some kind of spell on my parents’ house that causes tupperwares to lose their lids, and it makes me insane. I seriously hate cleaning up after meals if there are leftovers because there are never enough matching tupperwares, and it’s better if things can go into single serving containters because then you can take them for lunch, but instead we wind up with some carrot shreds and a third of a chicken breast in a two gallon container with cling wrap on top because there wasn’t a lid. SO when people come over for dinner and there are leftovers that we want to get rid of because our fridge is so full of giant containers, we give people food in…tupperwares. But because these people are guests, and we want to seem like well-organized Martha Stewarts, we give away the precious few matching sets that we have. And then they’re gone. Usually forever. This new system though, is perfect! Making (adorable) to-go boxes out of things that would otherwise be thrown away just might be the perfect solution! And they’re reusable! The instructions on the ninja-site were pretty vague, but by cutting along the folds, with one extra-long flap, I was able to make a nifty little box. (I’m going to be making a lot of these in the near future because we host Christmas dinner, so I might post a tutorial. Maybe even a video tutorial if I’m feeling fancy.) I lined the bottom with parchment paper, and stuck in two turnovers (they’re pretty much the same as last time, with the only real difference being I used one whole onion instead of a half), and went to the market. I’m not much of a closer, but I think I managed to carry it off relatively well (“I brought you more food! I’m working on this recipe for the holidays, and I thought I could use an outsider’s opinion.” Yeah, I’m smooth. 😛 ) . He seemed really pleased though, and he liked the box a lot (he also has a complicated relationship with tupperware. We have to much in common 😉 .) PLUS, and this is the exciting part- we got free cheese. He said we’ve been such good customers, and we took the class, and we’ve fed him on multiple occasions, so our cheese was on the house. *swoon* Ok, I know that’s a little thing, but he didn’t have to do that, and it was really nice. I really hope he likes the turnovers. They’re good, but I think the whoopie pies were better. This is so silly, but it’s just one of those little things about my Buffalo experience that is making me smile.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

