Pinning

Standard

I’ve decided to make all of my Christmas presents this year, and so I’ve been perusing craftgawker and pintrest looking for inspiration. I want to make really special, awesome things, that the people will actually like, instead of just appreciating the fact that I made them, and feeling obligated to act like they like them. The problem is, that I don’t think there are very many manly crafts, and I have to get gifts for at least two men (my dad and brother-in-law). Plus my sister and brother-in-law’s gifts need to be small enough to go in a suitcase. I have ideas, and it’s still early (although I’ll have to get an earlier jump on things this year than in the past when I’ve bought gifts), and I think that if this works out it’ll be great. I haven’t been crafting much lately, not counting my table, and it’ll be fun to have a bunch of projects. I love giving away things that I’ve made too, so it’s even more fun than the usual Christmas giving.

There’s a Harry Potter prequel! It’s super short, only 800 words, but it’s charming. James never struck me as a very likeable guy, but I love Sirius. There’s just something about the bad boy… The movies have been on all weekend, and I’m watching Order of The Phoenix right now instead of being responsible and going to bed, or at least reading. I really kind of thought I might have magical adventures when I was a kid- they were always happening to otherwise realistic characters in books. It was quite a blow when I turned twelve and had to accept that I wouldn’t be getting a Hogwarts letter. I had it all planned out, down to the kind of owl I’d get (barn. Or possibly a crow, just to mix it up and be an individual) and my house (Hufflepuff. Load of duffers my foot. (And it didn’t have anything to do with Robert Pattinson- I was so disappointed when he was picked to be Cedric) I had a thing for badgers when I was a kid, I was even one for Halloween once). It would’ve been great.

My friends and I dressed up to see the movie (Deathly Hallows Part 1 I think), but we missed the premier, so we just went to a regular showing in costume. In a small town in Utah. Yeah, we got some looks. My friend Ellen made a perfect Luna (actually, I think the costumes were really spot on in general, especially considering the fact that we cobbled them together from tiny thrift stores in the middle of nowhere (the owl was pure luck)), and I was Bellatrix Lestrange.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I’m making most of my Christmas gifts this year, too! Josh is impossible, you’re right, but I’d be glad to provide some clues if you want. I’m so excited for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

