Irresistable

Standard

Two applications submitted, three to go. It’s actually less of a relief than I would have expected, but I’m on my way.

I was all set to give up on my crush. There are lots of reasons that it’s silly, and I decided to let it go, enjoy the delicious cheese, and leave it at that. Except this decision was based on not seeing him last week. I went to the market today (sans baked goods, because I was so over silly things like that), and he was there, and all twinkly, and now I’m back to square one. It’s still all in fun, I know I don’t want to invest in anything (when the subject came up at dinner and my aunt asked me what the best case scenario outcome would be I admitted that it would probably just be some sloppy make outs. I’m just not in the position to look for anything longer term than that. Plus they apparently go to bed at 7:00 and wake up at 1:45, and I just can’t do that), but I’m already thinking about possible recipes for next week.

I need a new winter coat. I’ve had the same coat for a long time, since…I think my sophomore year of high school, and while I love it, and it has pretty buttons that I sewed on myself to make it stand out from the sea of pea coats, it’s time for a change. I saw a beautiful coat that I loved last year, but I held off on getting it because I thought I’d be in Africa for two years. I used to like shopping, but lately the mall just bothers me, and as soon as I get there I just want to leave. I need a new coat though (the lining of my current one is in less than beautiful condition), so I’m going to have to suck it up. I really hope that I’m going to need this coat next winter when I’m living in Wisconsin, so it has to live up to some made up standard for awesome coats that can withstand midwestern winters. And it should make me look pretty, and be able to stand up to sledding-levels of winter fun. I have a snowboarding jacket, so it doesn’t need to be too too sporty, but it should be sturdy. I tried on a kind of pretty gray wool coat, that I thought looked like something from Mad Men, or that Franny Glass would wear, but I don’t feel adult enough for that sort of thing- there’s too much pressure to dress up. I still feel like I should have my mittens pinned to my sleeves half the time.

What dish would you use to seduce someone (and I’m not talking about overt seduction, with oysters and chocolate dipped strawberries, but subtle seduction based on what a good cook/cool person you are)? What do you look for in a winter coat?

Leave a Reply

