Still I long for your kiss

Standard

What a weekend!

Friday night I went on a MeetUp to the Art Walk in Allentown. It was my first MeetUp, and I was kind of nervous, but it was great! A lot of the people were older (one is actually a teacher from my old high school, but I was never in her class), but there were three younger, my-ageish people, and so that was nice. We strolled around a bit, chatting more than looking at art, and then went to Allen Street Hardware for drinks. It was very crowded, but we all piled into a booth and sat around talking and figuring out if we had anything in common. The people were all incredibly nice, and I’m actually going to dinner with the other youngin’s on Thursday. So that was a very successful outing indeed. I like the idea of MeetUps- it might be the solution to my Chow Chocolat tango dilemma (I don’t want to go by myself, but I don’t really want to go with my parents (No offense! I love spending time with them!).

I posted about my Saturday market adventure, and I spent the rest of the day working on my table. It’s coming along nicely, but it isn’t quite done, so I’m going to hold off on pictures for now. My cousin joked with me that I’m using my gap year to develop a one-woman Sturbridge Village (cheese-making, furniture painting, cooking, mandolin playing, and I got a large hunk of beeswax at the market so I can explore candle-making), which sounds about right. I’m having a ton of fun with it all. It was incredibly satisfying to paint my table and have it go from looking like something I rescued from the curb to a respectable table.

Sunday was lovely because I took full advantage of turning the clocks back and slept to my little heart’s content. When I got up I read the Sunday Times while enjoying a kale egg english muffin, and then my mom and I drove out to the East Side and attended Polish mass at Corpus Christi. I hadn’t been there in years, but apparently when they first built it like a hundred years ago the school children wrote prayers and put them in the big cross, and now that they’re renovating they opened the cross and took all the stuff out to examine. The prayers had been reduced to a coral reef-like blob, and so it’s impossible to read what they were praying for, but it was interesting (?). They put out papers for people to write new prayers to be put into the cross, but I don’t really get the point, and so I didn’t write one. My mother’s family all came out though, and after mass (which was nice because of the beautiful setting, but incomprehensible to me because I don’t speak a word of Polish) we all had doughnuts and visited a bit, which was when my cousin made the joke about all of my hobbies. There was a picnic in the park later in the day, but I opted to go running and to the gym instead. It was a close call, but it felt so good to get moving that I knew I made the right decision. I really need to run more- it’s so satisfying.

It was truly the non-stop fun weekend, because Sunday evening we went to see Lucinda Williams at the Town Ballroom. I like Lucinda Williams well enough, but by that point I was pretty much fun-ed out, which made it hard to fully enjoy the show. I was tired, and it was crowded (lots of aging hippies and older lesbians), and while she played a great show, I spent the whole second half wishing that it would end so I could go home and crash. Isn’t that shameful? It’s really embarrassing, but true. Her band was awesome though- they didn’t have an opening act, but her band came on first and opened the show with some instrumental stuff that was terrific. The drummer was especially fun- he played on a paint can, and a kick drum, and he rattled chains, and just pulled out all the stops- he was a joy to watch. He probably broke three drumsticks over the course of the show, he was just that into it. Lucinda Williams was in good voice, and played some fun stuff (“Car Wheels on a Gravel Road”, “Honey Bee”, “Drunken Angel”, etc.), although she didn’t play “Passionate Kisses”, which is what I wanted to hear. It was a fun show, and it we certainly got our money’s worth, because it was a long show, and I’m glad I went, even though I was tired and crabby by the end. The whole weekend was just delightful. It was full, and busy, and now I’m on the other side, and ready to face this week.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Absinthe and HD « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

