Mixed bag

Standard

I was on the fence about making something for The Guy this week, so when I made up my mind to do something it was kind of last minute. I had flirted with the idea of goat cheese, apple and bacon turnovers, so I decided to go with that, and pulled out (gasp!) pre-made puff pastry and got started around nine-thirty. It was a pretty simple process- I made some bacon (I think I used about six strips), took some First Light Farm and Creamery double cream chevre and added a little black pepper and smooshed it around with a spatula to soften it up, peeled and cored two apples, and cooked them in the bacon grease, and carmelized half an onion. While the puff pastry was still defrosting I mixed the bacon, onion, and cheese together to make a (amazing. astonishing. off-the-walls delicious) compote (technically, compotes are fruit, but it’s French for mixture, so that’s how I’m going to describe it), and when the pastry was ready I cut it into triangles, filled it with compote and apples (which were only slightly cooked, but still crunchy) and popped them in a 400-degree oven for like twenty minutes. The end result was gorgeous.

I wrapped one up in parchment paper and took it to the market, feeling kind of self-conscious. It was one thing to bring whoopie pies, but these turnovers are kind of huge. And I’m also an awkward person by nature, so that doesn’t help. I wasn’t sure what to say, but I figured I would just go with it. Except he wasn’t there. Fail. I was so slow getting to the market that they were all out of cheese curds too. So that was sad. The turnovers are quite delicious though, so there is a silver lining to this cloud.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Alice has been following this whole “goat guy” storyline with interest. My friends all say you are adorable, and they are astounded that this guy hasn’t taken the hint yet.

  2. Pingback: Say cheese « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

