Thanks for the memories

Standard

Applying to programs means going over my old transcripts, which has me feeling a little nostalgic. And a little embarrassed, because I’m terrible at recalling when I took what class I took when. I decided that the best way to remember was to go back and check my old journals. I’m a saver, and I have a big box full of old race numbers, ticket stubs, letters, and journals, as well as odds and ends like ping pong balls and woodchips. I don’t go through it very often, so it was nice to leaf through and reminisce. My journals weren’t very helpful (I mention classes, and homework assignments, but it’s a lot of drama and boy stuff), but it was interesting to read back on my freshman and sophomore year experiences. I made some pretty dumb decisions, but I had a lot of fun.

When I look at my record I can’t help but wonder what would have happened if I had stayed at Geneseo. I would probably have a higher GPA, but I don’t know if I would have realized that I want to be a midwife. I wouldn’t have joined crew, I doubt I would have explored my sexuality to the extent that I have, but I hope I would have gotten my head on straight regarding rugby boys. I wouldn’t have met some amazing people. I wouldn’t be who I am. But I wonder who I would be. I don’t regret going to Smith- it was amazing, and I was incredibly lucky to have that opportunity, but I can’t help but wonder. I think a lot of the changes I’ve undergone have just been part of growning up, and it’s possible that I would be similar, but I’m happy to be where I am either way. I might have had a higher GPA if I had stayed, heck, I might already be in grad school, or engaged even, but I’m happy where I am.

What was your favorite class in college?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Probably the Faulkner class, maybe the six credit philosophy seminar, or Bill Edgar’s Logic class. Maybe it was the film class on Hitchcock and Leo McCarey, or Chaucer. Maybe it was the 4 credit Contemporary American Literature class, or whatever the class was where we read Borges and One Hundred Years of Solitude. It probably wasn’t Karen Duffy’s Psychology of Human Sexuality, although that was great. It might have been Dr. J’s class on Congressional politics. Hm. Let me get back to you on this.

  2. Now you’re just showing off. “Hmm you can’t remember a class you took three years ago? Here’s my entire undergrad record!” lol. I’m sticking with Learning & Behavior Change with Dave Palmer. Playing with chickens (we painted their nails!) and pep talks about how grades don’t matter and we should just enjoy life ftw!

  3. Logic 100 was really wonderful, as was Jay Garfield’s Wittgenstein seminar. Also Drawing II. I think the three things I did right in college were studying abroad, majoring in logic and writing an honors thesis. Although I often wonder how my life would have been different if I’d majored in something else, like math, art, or engineering.

  4. You really were great at being in college. I would say my three best choices were transferring, doing sports, and taking a wide range of classes, but all of those kind of came back to bite me, what with the lack of close connections to my professors and sufeit of angst lol.

    • Enh. My big regret about college was that I wasted a lot of time on angst that would have been better spent on learning. Maybe in the long run, all that angst and misery helped me learn how to be a better person, but it still feels like a lot of misdirected energy.

Leave a Reply

