Obsessed

Standard

I dreamed about mandolin last night. I went to see Twilight, and I was playing arpeggios in the theater. I’m still working on Frere Jacques, but I think it’s getting better. It’s starting to feel more natural- I don’t have to look at the strings a lot of the time, my fingers can just find the frets. It’s exciting- I’ve never been musical before, and I’m not really yet, but I might be someday.

I’m also really enjoying my coconut oil. I’ve only been using it for a couple of days, but I can already see some results, and it’s becoming a nice nightly ritual. I ran and went to spin class last night, so it felt amazing to do a little self-leg massage while I moisturized last night. It isn’t greasy, and it absorbs really nicely, and I love the scent. It isn’t overpowering at all, but it smells like samoas, and it’s very nice and relaxing. I would totally recommend it for anyone looking for a nice moisturizer.

One of the nice things about my life right now is that I have time to read. I’m rereading Jane Eyre, and I can barely put it down- it’s just so good! I read it in high school, and I liked it, but I’m really loving it this time around. I have a driving lesson today after class, but after that I’m going to build a fire, and curl up with my book and my mandolin for the rest of the afternoon.

If I start asking questions in italics at the bottom of my posts, will people respond? What are you obesssed with right now?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Since I was a child, my obsession with the Marvel Universe has waxed and waned, and right now I’m at a pretty high point. I’m (very VERY slowly) working on an autobiographical review of Cypher’s return, which I haven’t read yet because I’m not at that part of the project, but every time I’m shelving graphic novels in the library and that book is in stock, I succumb to the temptation to peek inside.

    Come to think of it, I’ve also been particularly into They Might Be Giants for the last month, listening to their entire discography in order and watching the documentary and videos.

    Basically, I’m myself at thirteen right now.

  2. We just rented X-Men: First Class, so I’ve been pretty steeped in the Marvel Universe myself lately. That movie is annoying, and full of missed opportunities and inscrutable decisions (why NOT make Bansee Irish?), but Magneto is very dreamy. Given the choice between him and insufferable young Professor X I would’ve joined the Brotherhood so fast.

    • I actually haven’t seen it. I was going to go with our mutual friend, but we never got it together and then it was too late. Then I went to a showing on campus, but in order to make it accessible to people with disabilities, they had the narration turned on, which means that someone was describing everything as it happened. I found that very distracting – although I recognize its importance – so I left. Someday, though. Someday.

Leave a Reply

