Bawk Bawk Bawk

Standard

Ok ok, I’m a big chicken. OR maybe I’m just enjoying a crush, and I don’t want to do anything that might make it less enjoyable. One or the other. Or both. Either way, I whipped up a delicious batch of pumpkin whoopie pies this morning (I mostly followed the recipe, but I made a few tweaks, like not using pumpkin pie spice. I hate when recipes call for pumpkin pie spice because I like to have more input on the flavor. Today I went for a spicier flavor, with lots of nutmeg and some black pepper), with the direct purpose of bringing him a couple. They came out really great too, the First Light Farm and Creamery pumpkin goat cheese is amazing. I’ve made whoopie pies before with my friends, but this was my first solo attempt, and I’m really happy with the way they turned out. I know bloggers all love to rave about pumpkin, but it is delightful. The cake parts are rich and moist, and the cheese had such a nice pumpkin-y flavor that I barely had to add anything (the recipe called for adding butter, sugar, and vanilla, but I just added a little bit of vanilla and maybe a tablespoon of confectioners sugar). They baked for longer than I expected, taking about fifteen to twenty minutes instead of the ten the recipe said it would take, but the whole process only took about…an hour. Set up and clean up included, plus letting the cakes cool so I could frost (cheese?) them. I felt so so shy about giving them to the guy, but he seemed genuinely pleased, and so that was nice. I would be thrilled if someone brought me fresh baked goods, especially nice pumpkin whoopie pies. Crushes are fun.

Leave a Reply

