Music Monday! On a Monday this time!

Standard

I’ve had kale with two meals today. The other day I remarked to my mom that I’m not 100% sure whether I like kale because I enjoy the way it tastes, or because I like that it’s good for me, but either way I’m winning. Except I don’t think I’ll attempt the scary swamp thing smoothie using purple kale again, because blended it’s brown. And not pretty, chocolate-y brown, scary, sludgey brown. I used more lemon juice today though, and it was easier to drink. Maybe it’s just an acquired taste.

I have mixed feelings about this week. It’s the only thing standing between me and the dreaded GRE (which I’m taking a week from today), but I have a big scary test (of doom) tomorrow, and then I have to somehow get to my mentee’s house quick like a bunny to meet her and the social worker. I’m looking forward to meeting her, but transportation is so problematic. I need a license. Badly. Tests and whatnot aside, my real issue with this week is that I don’t have anything exciting on the horizon. It might snow on Friday, which is exciting, and not dreary, but not really enough to count as something to look forward to, because being weather, it isn’t certain. I’m feeling kind of pent-up. I loved visiting the farm yesterday, but it made me realize how sedentary I am. I wish I could work on a farm, and not in an office. I also wish our firewood wasn’t already quartered, because now it doesn’t need splitting, and I love splitting wood because it makes me feel like Jo from Little Women. I want to swing an ax (or in our case, a wedge), or throw hay, or do some kind of physical work. The best I can do at the moment is to run home from work tonight. I don’t have time for a spinning class because of the Big Bad Test.

On the bright side, I have mandolin tomorrow, and I have actually been practicing! I may not have anything big and great in the immediate future, but there are little things like that. I bought a giant purple cauliflower at the market on Saturday, and I’m going to roast it tonight and then I’ll have delicious purple cauliflowerets to nom. My professor said he would recommend me for one of my programs, so I’m that much closer to being done with an application. I got 100% on my lab homework, and it didn’t even take me all that long to finish because I knew a lot of endocrine system stuff already, and so it was just a refresher (I’ve decided that there’s no excuse for not getting 100% every time since I can do it as many times as I want anyway). I’m really really looking forward to my run later. It’s raining, and I love running in the rain. And when I get home I’ll have a lovely shower, and study by the fire. I’m still ambivalent about this week, and tomorrow in particular, but I feel good right now.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

