Say Cheese!

Standard

Today was finally Cheese Day! The drive out actually felt shorter than it did on our dry run yesterday, and we arrived at the farm bright-eyed and bushy tailed. I had only ever seen one of the cheese makers, because they divide and conquer so that they can go to ten different farmer’s markets, and so I was curious to see the other brother. Trystan (dark hair) seems to be the older brother, and he ran the class, while Max (light hair) helped out by washing dishes and fetching things. They’re both very lovely. They reminded me of knights actually, a golden one and a dark one, like Galahad and Mordred (my mom didn’t see it, and gave me a weird look when I suggested it).

We made three kinds of cheese- farmhouse cheddar, ricotta, and chevre. It was a small class, but large enough that we broke into groups, and so I only actively made the ricotta. Of the three, I think I’m most likely to make ricotta on my own because it’s so simple, and doesn’t involve rennet. I made mine with lemon and lime juice, and even though you could taste the citrus I think it came out great. I love lemon, and I think the cheese would be great for a dessert. (I had an idea for breast milk ricotta cannoli, which I bet would be delicious, but I won’t be able to experiment for a few years at least. My doula instructor told me that human breast milk tastes like melted ice cream, and your body makes as much as you need, so it wouldn’t be too terribly wasteful to experiment with cheese-making.)

We didn’t get to try the other cheeses, because they take a kind of long time to finish, but it was very interesting to see how they’re made. I would love to try making some of my own cheeses, but I doubt I’ll stop buying cheese. I would love to make a lasagna totally from scratch though, with homemade pasta, sauce, mozzarella, and ricotta. Trystan and Max mentioned that they almost never go to the grocery store, because they grow a lot of their own food, and trade with other farmers in exchange for cheese, and that seems like an incredibly nice way to live.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Very exciting « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

