Morning commute

Standard

I am lucky enough to live right by the bus stop, but because Buffalo public transportation runs on a whim instead of a schedule it does me limited good. Most mornings I’ll get 3/4 down the street and see the bus speeding by, oblivious (I hope, the driver might be having a laugh at my expense, who knows?) to my plight, regardless of when I actually leave the house. I like to play a little game in the mornings, where I wait until I can hear my dad walking down the hall before I get up and sprint into the bathroom, just cutting him off. Most of the time I get up and brush my teeth beforehand, so I can do this without being a jerk and actually making him stand outside, tapping his foot, waiting for a turn in the shower, but the bus doles out such perfect karma that as hilarious as I find this game, I might have to stop. I understand all too well, the feeling of arriving at your destination only to be denied, but at least my dad doesn’t have to wait in the rain. Even when I somehow manage to beat the bus, or just miss it by a wide enough margin that I don’t see it pull away, walking towards the stop is terrible. The anticipation of seeing it arrive before you reach the end of the street is just brutal, and I always want to run, but it isn’t really feasible in heels, especially on the days that I bring my textbook to work to study on breaks. Today, I was a little more than halfway to the stop when the bus pulled away, but it was a blessing in disguise because a man was walking his two English bulldogs, and I got to stop and pet them! They had short little muddy legs, and big slurpy tongues, and wrinkled heads, and I loved them. One of them jumped up on me and got little muddy paw prints on my jacket, and the other, seeing his pal getting sweet petting action, head-butted me until I gave him some pats. Now I know that bulldogs have a whole host of medical issues, and snore, and are gassy, and make giant messes all the time, always, but I want one. So hard. They’re painstakingly slow walkers, and you can’t take them running, but they are just too cute. I would get it a rugby jersey, and take it to games, and we would go on long, slow walks, and it would be great.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. It’s true: walking to the bus stop is extremely stressful. At the beginning of this year I had to park in the commuter parking lot every day, which is far from campus and you have to take a shuttle. EVERY SINGLE DAY the shuttle was already there when I got to the lot, so I had to find a parking space (not easy!) as quickly as possible and RUN to get to it in time.

Leave a Reply

