Dinner in Narnia

Standard

I’ve experimented with spaghetti squash before, but as a replacement for regular pasta. Tonight though, I broke free from the implications of its name, and used it for something new. I baked the squash, and while it was in the oven I softened some apples and onions in butter, and toasted pecans, while my dad cooked some sausage. After the nuts were done toasting I tossed them with maple syrup, cajun spice, black pepper, and a little bit of butter, and then tossed the squash, apples, and nuts together, with some romesco broccoli on the side to give it some green. It was simple, and hearty, with a nice earthiness that made me feel like I was eating in Narnia. I drank apple cider with dinner, and could almost imagine sitting next to a Talking Badger. My parents said it lacked cohesion, and would be better with a sauce, but I disagreed about what kind of sauce would work. My dad suggested chicken stock and white wine reduction, but I don’t see it. I think it was nice by itself, maybe with the sausage crumbled up, instead of sliced and on the side.

After dinner I toasted up the squash seeds, which mysteriously vanished. It’s funny how these things happen. 🙂

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

7 responses »

  1. They have bear with Trumpkin, in Prince Caspian. Remember? They have it with apples, and the girls are all worried that it may have been a talking bear.

  2. Pingback: Frosty the Stoop Step « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

