Brussel Sprouts

Standard

I think I used to like brussel sprouts when I was a kid, but I stopped after a point. Except, I don’t remember who would have tried to make me eat them, so it’s possible that I just decided that I didn’t like them without actually eating them. I love the look of the stalks though, and people are so enthusiastic about them, that I had to give them another shot. I got a stalk at the market last weekend, and by last night it was starting to look a little wilty, so I knew the time had come. I scoured foodgawker for inspiration, and found a recipe that looked easy and delicious. I’m a part of the slow food movement (by which I mean I’m an incredibly pokey chef, and it takes me forever to make anything. I really haven’t figured out how to be efficient in the kitchen), so it took about an hour, but then I had a delicious dinner. It would be nice on top of quinoa, but I just had a big bowlful. I didn’t take a picture, but it looked like the picture, except with toasted pecans on top. I was really pleased with how well it came out, and I would make it again for sure.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I had Brussels sprouts on Sunday – just roasted with olive oil, salt and pepper. They were so good that after dinner I put another helping in a ramekin and ate it watching tv like it was popcorn. And I HATED them when I was a kid, and even in college. I kept trying though, and my persistence paid off!

Leave a Reply

