Late again!

Standard

I am not very good at this Music Monday business, but in honor of seeing David Sedaris tonight here’s some Billie Holiday!

Driving home from David Sedaris we landed on the subject of Family Heroes. We have a lot- people who have shaped our family and are generally beloved. The list isn’t official, we haven’t run it by my sisters, and some people are still in the petitioning stages, but a few of the obvious contenders were David Sedaris, Bob Dylan, Wes Anderson, Norton Juster, Edward Eager, Ira Glass, J.D. Salinger (controversial. I say he should be on the list, but my dad is unconvinced), and Joss Wedon. There were more, but they were up for debate, like the Dalai Lama, and Pope John Paul II (I think they should both be on the list).

Today was nice and full. I went to class, and lab, and I had my first ever mandolin lesson! I’ve never been very musical, but maybe that’s about to change. I felt comfortable with my instructor, which is really important, since I couldn’t play in front of my high school guitar teacher. He has an impressive mustache, and he’s letting me rent my mandolin for cheap, so that’s pretty awesome. It’s still very new, so I don’t have any mandolin stories yet, but I’m hoping to soon.

Life was really full and happy today, but I don’t know what to say about it. I feel really good though. 🙂

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

7 responses »

  1. I’d consider the Roches. Maybe Laura Cantrell. There are people that are on line in front of Freedy. Steve Earle deserves consideration, for example. And what of Jazz? I’d say Miles, Monk and Bill Frisell deserve first ballot consideration.

  2. I can’t believe no one has mentioned They Might Be Giants. I’m in for Salinger and clearly Bing. I might tentatively suggest C.S. Lewis and Louisa May Alcott. Michael Feinstein, maybe.

  3. Allison Bechdel. And you could make a strong case for Stan Lee and/or Jack Kirby – I don’t think anyone’s into them *personally* but their work has had a major impact on 3/5 of us.

  4. TMBG absolutely. I dunno about C.S. Lewis– I suppose yes, but he swerves into my “no clerics” objection. I suppose it’s like Mark McGwire in baseball: yeah, he doped, but he was also good. Lewis is Jesus-y, but there is also Puddleglum to consider, and also Mr. and Mrs. Beaver.

    I’ll grant Feinstein and Bing (which means Bob Hope should also be in) and I must insist on Monk.

Leave a Reply

