Glug

Standard

I really try to like smoothies. Whenever someone posts a recipe that they’re really excited about, I give it a shot. I want to like them, they seem like such a great idea in theory, but I can honestly say I only really like my peach mango kombucha smoothies, and those most certainly do not contain kale. Or spinach. Or chard, or anything green and leafy. They contain peaches, mango, and tea (and sometimes orange juice, or cantaloupe). I keep plugging away though, and so today I made myself a Spring Cleaning Smoothie that I saw on I’m an Okie. Now I linked to it because I want to give credit to its creator, and I’m not trying to hate on this smoothie, or people who like drinking gingery green…stuff first thing in the morning. I might even make it again sometime, because my mom heard about the benefits of coconut water and bought a whole bunch at Costco without trying it first, and this is a good way to use it up without having to deal with its off-putting flavor. But here’s what I think: this is not a hugely drinkable smoothie. I keep wanting to chew it, even though it’s throughly blended, and it looks like it should have alligators lurking under the surface. On the upside though, because it isn’t easy to drink, I’ve been slogging away for about an hour, so it lasts, and that way you can (literally!) graze your way through breakfast and stay full longer. And it’s kale for breakfast! I am Starting the Day Off Right! Plus, it’s odd-looking, and so everyone who saw me drinking it had a satisfyingly shocked reaction, and what’s the fun of breakfast if you don’t gross out at least one person?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Here’s what’s good: Kale Fried Eggs. Take some leaves of kale and wilt them in the skillet until they are bright green. Crack two eggs over them, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover the pan until the whites are opaque and a white film has formed over the yolks. Top with a slice of cheddar cheese, cover again until melted. Serve on a slice of whole wheat toast.

    You’re welcome.

  2. Pingback: Music Monday! On a Monday this time! « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

