I just want to hug them all

Standard

Today was amazing. But amazing. It stormed like crazy early this morning, and so I snuggled deep into my bed, and slept late. Sleeping during a storm is really some of the best sleep you can get as far as I’m concerned, and my windows were open, so my room smelled like rain. It was so comfortable that I decided to stay there forever, but eventually I caved and got up.

It was a chilly day, and we had a lot of errands to run, so we drove to the market instead of walking. There weren’t very many people, and it was a muddy mess, but we got a lot of nice things for the week, and I even got to chat up the goat cheese guy a bit. He’s quite dreamy.

Today was a big cleaning day, and part of that always has to be getting rid of things. We donate our old towels to the ASPCA, and I convinced my mom that we should take them out today, and visit the animals. It took a certain amount of persuasion (whining), but she agreed, and so we drove out there after hitting the market. She was hesitant to do this, because the last time we “dropped off towels” we wound up adopting our second cat, Anouk, but we didn’t have any additions to the family today, despite my best efforts. The cat selection was sort of limited, but there was a beautiful gray cat with blue eyes, and a spunky white and gray kitten with one eye. Neither one called our name though, and so we moved on to the dogs. Oh my goodness, the dogs. My mother thought it was hilarious that my drama-causing skills extend to the animal kingdom, and sure enough, every time I opened a kennel window the dog would bark, and set off his neighbors barking. I can’t help it! There were some lovely dogs today. There were three cockapoos, who just melted my heart, and an old lab with a white muzzle who liked having his back patted, but would turn and stare balefully at me if I stopped petting him, so was constantly moving in a counter-clockwise circle. There was a big, calm, friendly shepard, and, a tippy (three-legged) pitbull, with big, wise eyes. There were puppies too, a pitbull, and three Australian cattle dogs, but they were too snoozy to want to be patted much. I want a dog. I want a dog so so much. None of those dogs were my dog though- I’ll know him when I see him.

My mom was eager to get home and clean, but I convinced her to check out the farm animals first. There were goats (one had been purchased by a teenager and set free in his school as a prank before coming to live at the shelter), and a miniature horse, and a sheep, and lots of chickens. I would like a chicken. Or several. I think they seem nice. I’ve held a chicken before, and it was a pleasant experience. The goats were kind of scary, especially when the one I was patting smiled at me with its teeth. It had a huge head, and sideways eyes, and just generally made me nervous. I suggested that we adopt one though, so I would have something to talk to the goat cheese guy about (“You have goats? I have a goat!”), but my mom said no because she is unfair. And rational.

I saw an ad for a polka party in Artvoice (a local newspaper) this past week, and my mom heard about it through the grapevine, and so we decided to go. I love accordion music, and my mom grew up polka-ing, so it was perfect. We invited my grandmother and great-aunt, and it was delightful. It could have been terrible, but it was awesome. We didn’t know what to expect, since it was in a parish hall, but it had been advertised in Artvoice, which is sort of hipster-y, but it was most definitely an old Polish person event. There were nuns in habits. I don’ t know how to polka, but I had a blast watching everyone dance. I loved watching the older couples dancing, because I could just imagine them sixty years ago, when they were young and in love, dancing to the same music. They were spry too, they hopped and bounced, spun like tops, and were very light on their feet. My grandmother and aunt danced together, which was probably the sweetest thing I had seen in a long time. There were a lot of women dancing together, sisters, mothers and daughters, mothers and granddaughters, it was very nice. I didn’t dance (like a big dork), but my mother and grandmother promised to teach me in the kitchen, so I will next time. A guy even approached me and asked me to dance, but when I told him I didn’t know how but would be willing to try he changed his mind. Just being asked was nice though. I come from a long line of husbands who refuse to dance with their wives, but I’m determined to marry someone who will dance with me. All the time. And sing in the kitchen. There was a very handsome man at the table next to ours, and I was trying to will him to look at me, or ask me to dance, but he didn’t. My psychic powers must be on the fritz.

I feel totally satisfied tonight. I’ve been in kind of a rut, going to work, going to school, planking around, but a trip to the animal shelter and a night of accordion music were just the jolt my system needed.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

