Mindful, or intuitive?

Standard

I’ve been feeling dissatisfied with my lifestyle lately. I’m not working out enough, or eating right, and it’s bogging me down. I never want dinner anymore, and I have headaches, and I just feel out of sorts a lot of the time, and I don’t like it. I’m spending too much time in my head, and in front of a screen, and that isn’t how I like to live. I need to get out more, and that’s just what I intend to do.

One of the problems I’ve been having with my diet is that when I don’t plan ahead I don’t eat well. I made a menu last week, and it was great, but I didn’t make one for this week (and I didn’t even go to the farmer’s market), and so I floundered. It doesn’t help that since I’m so sedentary lately my hunger cues are all messed up, and so I’ve been eating in the evenings out of habit even when I don’t want anything. Fortunately, there’s a simple solution-plan ahead. I think I might also need to start phasing dairy out of my diet. I love dairy, so hard, but I eat a lot of it, and it just doesn’t make me feel good. I don’t drink a lot of milk at home, but I eat a lot of cheese, and way more ice cream than I probably should, so I’m just going to veer slightly away from all that, and see how it goes. I would never give it up entirely, but moderation is key. I might also try using more goat dairy, even though goat milk takes a certain amount of getting used to, so I won’t be drinking it by the glassful any time soon.

As for exercising, I don’t know how I can be more active other than just forcing myself to get to the gym. The only way to be more active seems involve actually increasing activity (crazy, right)?. I know I’ll feel better if I get moving, so it’s really just a matter of forcing myself to get started. I’m beginning to suspect that I’ll have to go back to waking up early and going to the gym before work or class, because trying to go after isn’t cutting it.

It turns out that my cheese class isn’t until next weekend, but this weekend is a polka festival! I love accordion music (some holdover from my Irish dancing days perhaps?), so I’m pretty jazzed. When I was growing up there used to be a polka show on our local public radio station, and I would always have to excuse myself from Sunday dinner so I could go dance around the living room. I remember there was one song in particular that I loved, but I can’t remember anything about it, to look it up, but maybe if I’m lucky I’ll hear it at the festival and recognize it.

Leave a Reply

