Pride Alliance

Standard

I really miss Smith sometimes. It’s getting better, but over the summer I kept mistaking adolescent boys, and even just men in general for lesbians. There are various Pride organizations on campus, but the whole school is kind of one big Pride Alliance. Buff State is nice in its way, but it isn’t Smith, and I kind of missed the queer presence. I felt shy about going to club meetings though, because I’m old. I’m a grown up, and even though I was in college last year, now that I’m not it seems like a bigger gap than a few months. I sucked it up though, and went to my first meeting today. I was nervous at first, and honestly, a little disappointed (it was mostly gay guys and their hags, which I mean in a nice way…? It was a lot of straight girls who like hanging out with gay guys, and that’s what they’re called, but calling someone a hag is never nice). It was a really welcoming group of people though, and I’m going to go back. There were two girls who looked like Smithies, and even though they were off-limits undergraduate babies it was nice to soak up some gay. And one girl lingered when she shook my hand, so that was kind of neat. She was cute too, in a dreadlocked way, but I’m not really interested, and it was just a handshake. She did do that thing that I love, that has caused me to have crushes on people for years (she heard me speak when no one else did. I wish I was joking, but I’ve had crushes start that way. I need to talk louder), but she A) is not my type at all, and B) might be as young as 17. Which is the downside of hanging out with people you meet in an undergrad club. There are grad students in the Pride Alliance too though, so that’s exciting. There is definitely potential here.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

