Worries

Standard

Where did September go? I thought this year would drag on forever, but it’s flying by, and deadlines are starting to loom. My first deadline is October 15, and it used to feel a million miles away, but it’s actually just around the corner. Applications don’t take that long, but my adviser won’t respond to my (increasingly worried-sounding) email requests for a letter of recommendation. Why didn’t I get to know more professors? Oh, because I almost never took more than one class with anyone because everything sounded so interesting that I refused to specialize. Right. Sigh. I took some awesome stuff, and I don’t regret exploring, but it’s coming home to roost now, and I’m worried. I know I’ve covered all this before, but it’s a real problem. I may have to start emailing professors and just praying they remember me, but in all likelihood, reminding them who I am, and asking them to do me a big, giant favor. If someone randomly called you up for a recommendation, would you give it to them? It’s their job, but that doesn’t mean they would necessarily be able to write anything that dazzling, which is what I need.

Ok, I need to say something not-pathetic. My best friend is in town! She’s home for the New Year, and even though it’s just a short visit, we are going to (hopefully) get together for our traditional Jim’s Steakout chicken finger sub dinner tomorrow. And then I’m going contra dancing. And on Sunday I’m going to go to work on a service project of some sort with the Buff State volunteer org. And I just ate enough choclate covered espresso beans to keep me alert until Tuesday night. In the greater scheme of things, I know that everything is going to be fine. Honestly, I think it all comes down to attitude, and my worrywart habits aside, I’m an optimist. An optimist who is about to email all of her old professors and ask for a recommendation.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

