Totally Awesome Saturday

Standard

I was completely wiped out last night, so I went to bed early, and as a result I woke up at 6:00, ready to take on the day. It was cold though, and no one else would be up for hours, so instead I snuggled back into my covers and dozed until a more reasonable Saturday wake up time. We went to the farmer’s market, and got all kinds of nice things, including ingredients for the goat chili that I’m going to make for dinner tomorrow. They were out of lamb, and my dad thinks that chili would overwhelm lamb anyway, so the goat meat was a compromise. I’m excited to try it though. They say that a lot of the time when you buy lamb you’re really getting goat, but I don’t think I’ve ever knowingly eaten goat.

After the market my mom and I went to an estate sale, which was full of weird, random, extremely expensive junk. There were some cool things, like a statue of two elephant seals fighting, and a giant Indian cow puppet, but nothing I would spend money on, and certainly not hundreds and hundreds of dollars.

As it turned out, today was the Celtic Heritage Festival, which just so happens to be one of my favorite things. It wasn’t part of the plan, but we had to go, so my mom and I went out to Olcott Beach to soak up some Irish culture. It was glorious. It was like going to a ten ring circus- there were so many awesome things happening all over. There was music, and bagpipe bands, and tons of dogs- corgis, labs, a dalmation, a dog in a kilt, even the three Irish wolfhounds we met last weekend in the Adirondacks! There was a border collie agility course, and they had six week old puppies running it, which nearly knocked me down with its adorableness. Those dogs are really amazing, and they clearly love what they do- it’s written all over their faces. There were highland games, like the caber toss, where brawny men in kilts throw trees.

There was also a ton of food, some traditional (I tried haggis! It wasn’t bad, but I don’t think it was very authentic, so I’m witholding judgement on future haggises), some not, like hot dogs and whatnot. My mom and I considered our options, and then went with the Irish stew, which was delicious, and just the thing on a chilly day.

They even had a cool history lesson on Bonnie Prince Charlie, and traditional Scottish warfare, complete with artillary demonstrations, and the execution of several poor, innocent British pumpkins.

The one cloud on an otherwise delightful day occured while I was making dinner. The Times featured a recipe for corn fritters a couple of weeks ago, and they just looked so good that I knew I would have to make them. I don’t fry a lot of things though, and so imagine my surprise when the hot oil pretty much exploded in my face! I screamed, and swore, and for a minute I was afraid that the oil had burned my eye and I would be blinded by corn fritters, but aside from a small burn above my right eyebrow I’m fine. And the corn fritters were delicious.

Just to round out the best, and whitest day ever, I went to a contra dance at the Unitarian church tonight. I contra danced at my sister’s wedding this past winter and loved it, and it seemed like a fun way to spend a Saturday night. The people were so nice, and the music was really great (mandolin!). I’m about as graceless as is humanly possible, but I began to get the hang of it by the end of the evening. I do love to dance. There’s a big contra dance coming up, and I think I’ll go. You really don’t need to know anyone, everyone just dances together, and you don’t need to know what you’re doing because they call all the steps. It’s kind of perfect for me. Today has been such a gift.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Back to blogging « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

