Billie Holiday and Accordians

Standard

Wouldn’t that make for a great soundtrack for your life?  There was an accordian player at the farmer’s market this morning and it made me feel like Amelie while I shopped. I wish he would become a regular, but he said he’s just passing through.

Today was a great market day- we got all kinds of nice things. It was very crowded, and sunny, and beautiful, and there was nice music, and adorable animal shelter puppies. We bought squash blossoms, a spaghetti squash, ground rabbit, and goat cheese, and swiss chard, and peaches! We bought so many peaches! I’ve been eating like four a day, because they’re only in season for a short while, and the ones we bought today are the size of softballs, and so juicy!

After the market we had tons of other errands to run, so we dropped our purchases at home so the frozen things would stay frozen, and then set out for the craft store, much to my dad’s chagrin (he waited in the car). It was a really productive trip though, because I got all kinds of nifty things. I love making crafts, but I kind of don’t like the craft store. It smells like nasty fake cinnamon, and the people who work there are kind of grim- it was almost impossible to get someone to help me, and no one knew where anything was. Now I have fabric though, so I can make pads, and I have more glue, and spray paint for my table, even though it might be the wrong kind, since I got matte, and I think glossy might look better. It was still a productive trip.

There were lots of other errands, and then I spent a lot of the rest of the afternoon working on my table. I picked it up from the curb a few weeks ago, hoping to make it pretty, and then I kind of forgot about it, in the sense that I knew it was there, but I didn’t feel like dealing with it. I took a crack at sanding off some of the ugly green paint last week though, and discovered that it was a lot more work than I had expected. My mom suggested I use the electric sander, so I tried that today, and found that it was faster, but not fast enough, so I turned to toxic chemicals, which worked great. The paint practically melted off, and now my table looks way better. It isn’t quite ready to be repainted, but I made a lot of progress today.

The previous owners apparently painted the table over and over, because it has like five layers of ugly paint that need to be removed. It’s already looking so much better though! I look like kind of a mess, but who looks good in a safety mask?

In addition to all the productive job-doing that was done today, there was a lot of delicious nomming. I had a really nice smoothie for lunch, with mago kombucha, a peach, cantelope, and frozen blueberries. I’m not usually a smoothie fan, but this was really delicious. Blueberries are wonderful, but they make smoothies ugly.

Dinner consisted of burgers, with goat cheese-filled squash blossoms (so so so good!), and tomatoes. Technically, there wasn’t a vegetable, but whatever, it tasted great, and everyone was happy with it. In this family that’s sometimes the best you can do.

Now I’m hanging out with my parents, watching Into the Woods. My gosh, I love musicals.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Still I long for your kiss « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

