Oww

Standard

I had all kinds of exciting baking plans for today (I was going to make nutella granola, and a boule), but instead I’ve been laid low by cramps. I know it isn’t really polite to announce to the internet that I’m bleeding, but I don’t like all the shame that’s attached to menstruation, and as a future midwife, I’m going to try to make it more acceptable to talk about, at least in my circle. I try really hard to love my cycle, and remember that my body is a vessel, and embrace that I am made to nurture new life, but my tummy hurts. I read The Red Tent my sophomore year of college, and totally loved it.  I wish I had cool rituals, and used my periods as a time to reconnect to my womanhood, and sisters, and took this time to relax and rejuvinate. I’ve been trying to think of a way that I could celebrate my fertility over these next few days, but nothing really feels right. Currently I’m celebrating by being a crab and eating chocolate. I suppose I could plant something in the garden, but that’s kind of the opposite of what I’m experiencing, since the whole point is that I don’t have anything growing inside of me. I think it would be nice to get flowers once a month to celebrate, but I can’t do that right now because my cats love to eat flowers. Oh well.

One response »

  1. I reeeaaallly want to read The Red Tent. It has been recommended to me by so many women. One of my yoga teachers when I lived in Portland, OR was also a doula and she called her business Red Tent Doula. 🙂

Leave a Reply

