When I’m Up I Can’t Get Down

Standard

I was planning on starting on a blank blogging page on Monday, but yesterday was just so darn great that I couldn’t wait, and had to blog about it. My classes start on Tuesday, so I can’t take my little sister Lillian to college, which kind of breaks my heart, especially because she’s going to my alma mater, Smith College. I wanted to go back and visit all of my favorite spots, and see my friends who are still there, and get Lillian all settled in. It isn’t in the cards though. Lillian has been at hippie camp all summer, working in the kitchen, and my mom and I drove out to the Adirondacks to get her yesterday. We hit the road pretty early, so I spent the first couple of hours in a Car Coma, but then perked up once we got off the thruway, and I took the wheel! Now, a 22-year old driving on a country road doesn’t sound like a huge deal, but I do not have my license. I never needed to drive as a teenager, so I didn’t learn until last summer, and then I didn’t have time to take my road test before going back to school. I took it this past spring, but it was a total disaster, and I failed (*shame*). Failing kind of rattled me, so I haven’t been driving that much, so taking the wheel yesterday felt like a big step. It was actually a lot of fun, and my mom was very helpful and only kibitzed a little.  

My mom driving. She wouldn’t take one of me driving because she thought it would be distracting and I’d drive off the road and into a cow pasture.

We got to the camp around noon, and picked up Lillian, complete with her new haircut. My mom had been dreading the big reveal since Lillian told her she wouldn’t be needing a haircut before leaving for school, but it looks cute. She’s going to be a big hit at Smith. 

Lillian regaled up with stories of camp on the drive home, and my mom and I had a surprise of out own- tickets to see Great Big Sea that night! Granted, it was a bigger deal for me than Lillian, since I’m the only person who is really into them, but concerts are always fun. We rushed home, dropped off Lillian’s stuff, and got to the concert in plenty of time. The first opening act was a local group called McCarthyizm, who did a good job of warming up the crowd. They weren’t terribly memorable, but they rocked along, and I’ve for sure seen worse opening acts. Like the one that came next. And crowd-warming that McCarthyizm did was undone by the terrible music stylings of Martin Sexton. It seemed to go on forever. I don’t know what made it so terrible, but it was really painful. There was a lot of yodeling involved. The crowd was clearly not engaged, but he just wouldn’t stop. Finally though, Great Big Sea took the stage. My goodness, they were great. They were just… wonderful. They played all the favorites, and a lot of stuff that I wasn’t familiar with, but that was great. It’s music to dance to. The crowd was pretty tight, but I had enough room for my crazy jumping, flailing style of dance moves, and I had a blast. It was a dance like no one is watching kind of night. 


 

Leave a Reply

